eNLC Update for 2018

As of January 18, 2018, in 26 states Nurses with enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC) may work with patients, in person or via telehealth. This will save time for nurses with an eNLC license work in the 26 compact states but a nurse must follow laws and nurse practice act of each state where a patient is located. The eNLC affects registered nurses, licensed practical/vocational nurses; however, does not apply to advanced practice nurses. 

  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming


States Not Effected by The eNLC

However, not all states that are compact licensure have joined the enhanced compact. Four states- Wisconsin, Colorado, New Mexico, and Rhode Island- are considering legislation to join the eNLC. Nurses in these states will operate under the original compact rules until the state signs on or opts out, or until there are fewer than two member states in the original compact. Furthermore, Michigan, Massachusetts, and New Jersey have legislation about the eNLC pending and may be joining the eNLC if that legislation passes. Nurses can find out where their state stands at eNLC Implementation.


At a teleconference hearing on December 8, 2017, the Interstate Commission of Nurse Licensure Compact Administrators will take comments about the eNLC. Information on this hearing and instructions on how to submit comments are available here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *